Crossed red traffic light by going reverse.

Hi everyone

hope you all are doing well.

i have a question as I’m a new driver in UK.

I know that when red light or even yello light turn on we have to stop and not to cross line.

but here a case I’ve never encountered in France.

Traffic light was GREEN
    I crossed the line and a car in front of me changed the lane and went in the lane I was driving.

so I had to stop in the middle of the junction

I thought that I should do a reverse to unblock the junction. But I have crossed the line of the traffic light when was red.

does it count as a driving offence ? Will I be prosecuted for it ?

thanks for your help.
  • 10 Replies

• Best Answer

Best Answer
    @DriverFRThe offence is that a vehicle "must not proceed beyond the stop line" when the lights show red or amber.

By reversing you are not proceeding, so no offence is committed.
    thank you very much @Beelzebub

I forgot to mention that there are cameras in the road where this crossing happened.

Have I been caught by them ?? Will I be prosecuted in court even if there is no offence committed by crossing the red traffic light by going reverse ?

thanks
    Last edited by DriverFR; 29-04-24 at 06:13. Reason: Adding a qursrion
    The traffic lights should not be a problem for you in this. The cameras are set to catch people who drive through a red light.

If there were yellow cross/hatch lined on the road, indicating a "box junction" then you may have needed to plead your case in court.

Rule 174

Box junctions. These have criss-cross yellow lines painted on the road (see ‘Road markings’). You MUST NOT enter the box until your exit road or lane is clear. However, you may enter the box and wait when you want to turn right, and are only stopped from doing so by oncoming traffic, or by other vehicles waiting to turn right. At signalled roundabouts you MUST NOT enter the box unless you can cross over it completely without stopping.