Corsa c help

Hi. Any help would be appreciated. I am a complete novice car wise
    My son has a 51 corsa c 1.2.
    The other evening he came home, removed key from ignition. Car carried on running
    We stalled it and disconnected battery. The key ran freely in lock so I now know it's a broken pin
    A "helpful" friend came to look at it for me.
    He said it was ignition switch. He then hot wired it ( I don't know why!!). It started. He stopped it. It wouldn't start again. He told me to scrap it
    A neighbour later asked what had happened. He knew straight away to change barrel and switch.
    That's been done. Chip in key was also swapped over. The chip was taken out of the old key and put in new one.
    One of the fuses had blown and this has been changed
    Problem is car won't start at all. When the ignition is turned, only the odometer and hazard lights work.
    Nothing else. No indicators fans radio etc. No warning lights. There's nothing at all.
    I would like to know if anyone has a clue because although an old car it's a fantastic little runner
    I don't think it's worth spending at lot of money on but if it's a cheap fix I'll have a go
    Can anyone help?
  • 5 Replies

I'm no expert on this kind of thing, but it sounds like the car has not accepted the new "pin" as it's not been synced to it, good luck.
    I don't think you can fit the chip wrong - it's not powered and only has to be near to the barrel. It will be already synced to the pickup sensor near the steering lock. When I've changed barrels on old chipped-key cars in the past, I've just had standard non-chipped keys and cable tied the original key to the steering lock under the shroud so that it picks up the signal. Only on old cars that nobody is going to bother nicking though.