Battery dies after a day?

I've got a 2005 2lr automatic golf that I bought last year second hand. When I first purchased it the battery lasted on avg 3 days, meaning if I didn't drive it for three days it would die. I'm a new driver and didn't use it as much as I thought I would last year. I ended up changing the battery anyway because a family member told me to, even though the battery looked new.

That battery was fine for a few weeks but then it started doing the same. Now the battery dies after one day. I can use it Monday, leave it till tuesday evening & its dead. I usually use it every other day and it gets driven for about a hour, though I usually take a few detours if I've got time so it's running longer in an attempt to keep the battery charged, makes no difference. A family member drove it aswell for a few hours after jump starting it and it's the same outcome.

Nothing looks corroded or obviously broken. It's been through a mot this year, no issues and had a full check when I first bought it.

But I've also got a leak somewhere as the drivers side carpet & the seat directly behind get soaked if I leave the car uncovered in the rain. It has a sunroof but I'm not sure it's coming from there because there's no wet patches around it.(or anywhere else, I've checked a hundred times), + the screen above the steering wheel goes on/off which I think is probably water damage.

So I'm asking if anyone knows what this could be and if the leak could be related. Thanks.
  • 2 Replies

• Best Answer

Best Answer
    As it's a new battery it's unlikely that it's bad, not a 100% guarantee but unlikely.
    Common causes are a constant but smallish battery drain, such as the light in the glovebox staying on, but from experience the most likely cause is a bad alternator.