Finn Hanninen crowned rally champ

Finnish driver Juho Hanninen has claimed the 2010 Intercontinental Rally Championship title after victory in Rally Scotland, the penultimate round of the tournament.

Skoda star Hanninen had entered as champion elect and went on to dominate the meeting by setting a fast pace while his main rivals all suffered from mechanical problems as the event progressed across Perthshire and the Trossachs.

A puncture and brake problems saw 2009 champion Kris Meeke, driving a Peugeot 207 for the UK, unable to challenge the Finn, with no amount of vehicle breakdown cover helping the Northern Ireland star.

Guy Wilks, one of the favourites before the championship started, also suffered problems in the event he won last year. The Skoda UK driver had led after the first stages but suffered serious transmission problems.

Results:1. Juho Hanninen/Mikko Markkula (Fin) Skoda Fabia S2000: 2hrs 01min 07.4sec 2. Andreas Mikkelsen/Ola Fleune (Nor) Ford Fiesta S2000: +25.5sec 3. Kris Meeke/Paul Nagel (GBR) Peugeot 207 S2000: +3min 24.2sec 4. David Bogie/Kevin Rae (GBR) Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX: +12min 01.3sec

Copyright © Press Association 2010