Alosno wins Grand Prix for Ferrari

Fernando Alonso returned to the podium after snatching victory in his first race for Ferrari at the Bahrain Grand Prix.

The Spaniard enjoyed his 22nd career victory and his first since winning in Japan in 2008. He was followed across the finishing line on the Sakhir circuit by his team mate Felipe Massa.

For the first time since 1993 teams were not allowed to refuel their cars, creating lightning-fast pit stops to change tyres. On the previous two times Alonso won this race - in 2005 and 2006 - he went on to win the title during his time with Renault.

There was a degree of fortune to the triumph as Sebastian Vettel was on course for a pole-to-flag success until a spark plug failure resulted in a loss of power for the Red Bull driver.

Dropping two to three seconds per lap, Vettel was caught by Alonso and then Ferrari team-mate Felipe Massa in the space of 20 seconds, as well as McLaren's Lewis Hamilton to finish fourth.

Despite such a convincing win for Alonso, who finished 16 seconds clear of Massa, with Hamilton a further seven seconds adrift, the Spaniard knows one race win does not make a championship.

"The eight drivers in the top four teams are contenders for the championship," said Alonso.

Copyright © Press Association 2010