Is there any rule when 3 lanes merge into 2, usually from a set of traffic lights?

Hi, I hope i can word these questions correctly and you get what I’m meaning.

Where i live there are a few roads that are 2 lanes but as you get to the lights they go into 3 lanes, then as you leave the lights it carries on being 3 lanes but then merges back to 2 lanes, on some the far left lane may have arrows pointing to join the middle lane and on others the far right lane has arrows pointing to join the middle lane as they merge.

Is there a common rule for how everyone merges in this scenario, I am a pretty new driver and if its busy, have found it a bit daunting working out if there should be like a zip system or does it just work on a basic of whoever gets away first, then you just keep checking your mirror for when it looks like it will be your natural turn?

I've never really had a bit issue as such when doing it and I’m probably over thinking it, it’s only that i feel a little overwhelmed each time, worried i may run out of time /
    space to fit in.

If the merging is being done on the right is this a bit easier than the left as its the faster overtaking lane anyway, is it a little trickier if it’s the left or is the principle just the same regardless?

James
  • 3 Replies

https://www.rac.co.uk/drive/advice/d...e/zip-merging/

The RAC covers it in this article but I do not necessarily agree with all their conclusions. The Highway Code rule 134 covers it and if in an accident, one party will no doubt refer to it to show a defence.
    The aim of zip merging is to maintain traffic flow and generally works quite well. You will always get the drivers who are ignorant and aim to bully their way through.