Still trying

Hi
    Havent posted in a while but I am still learning to drive now aged 57. I have booked my theory for end of feb and instructor said should be test not long after that. My problem is i now have my own car and i am going to and from school with my son my husband who obv sits alongside me keeps saying at junctions roundabouts etc go on go go go and really it puts me off he also tells me not to brake all the while but it is an automatic and i also have my son to think about so am cautious. I do go on dc etc to get there and not really scared but just makes me think i am useless when my other half says let the others wait you go havent really held many people up even with morning rush
    Am I right to be cautious
  • 5 Replies

You need to sit down quietly and explain to your husband that he is not driving, and he is not there as an Instructor but as a failsafe. You are driving the car, and will use your judgment as to when you consider it safe to 'go', as you are the one will carry the can if it all goes wrong. Alternatively, you could let him drive and you sit in the passenger seat making comments about 'that is not how my Instuctor tells me to do that'. See how he likes criticism.
    :DAye! they say that it's not a good idea to have a relative or spouse with you, when you are learning to drive, and your post proves that point.

Rolebama has got it spot on in his reply, I hope it works out for you in the end.
    ;)