Thread: Tips for driving an automatic in the snow?

Default Tips for driving an automatic in the snow?

I have been driving for only 2 years and had my first "slip" in feb. when my car skidded into the ditch. Since its christmas,and the weather is shocking i hav no choice but to drive in the snow.
    I wouldnt have been at all concerned, except we got a brand new car 4 weeks ago and i havnt driven it in as bad weather as this yet.
    Im keeping my fingers crossed that someone will give me a few tips other than driving slow and not braking/breaking very gently?
    As Im in an automatic please bear this in mind (no clutch to help me!).
    Cheers

It is not just a matter of driving slowly and not braking, it is a matter of doing everything smoothly. Steering, acclerating and decelerating/stopping, should all be very smooth. If you have a 'real' automatic gearbox, then decelerating can have a similar effect to declutching, but if you have an electrically controlled manual gearbox, you have permanent drive, and will have to 'feel' the grip between driven wheels and road surface. When not carrying passengers, sometimes it can be useful to carry a bit of weight on passenger seats. Bags of cement used to be recommended, and on a front wheel drive car, putting them carefully on wings/bonnet can help aid traction should you become stuck, as can old sacking or blankets.