Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Ford mondeo dashboard cluster electrical fault

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Ford mondeo dashboard cluster electrical fault

    Hi, I've just purchased a March 08 registered Ford Mondeo 1.6 Zetec. The following issues have arisen with the dashboard instrument cluster and I was wondering if any one else has experienced the following issues:-

    If you use the steering wheel volume control approximately one every 10 uses it causes the CD to turn to auxilary mode and then every warning light on the dash flashes on and off, the fuel and temperature guages fall to zero and the driver info display for the mileage left in tank just blanks out with dashes. Turning the engine on and off does not correct the problem however if you press the CD button on the radio to change it from auxilary mode the warning lights go out and all gauges go back to normal. You can also recreate this problem by just pressing the auxilary button on the radio.

    In addition if you try to enter the clock sub-menu on the driver info system all warning lights on the dash illuminate and the fuel, temp guage and rev counter fall to zero for five seconds. The driver info syetem then kicks you back to the main menu on its own and everything goes back to operating normally.

    I've taken the car to a main dealer who temporarily swapped the radio to a new unit but this did not solve the problem so it's not the radio unit, does anyone have any ideas?

    Maxmiles

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    8,689

    Default

    Hi Maxmiles and welcome the site, it sounds like someone has changed the sound system in that car, and made a botch of wiring the new one while installing it
    I would get a motor technician to have a look at it, as it could cause even more damage to the cars electrical system, good luck with it.
    Cheers, Smudger.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Smudger, The Radio is the factory fitted unit so it can't be that, but thanks anyway.
    Regards, Maxmiles

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    8,689

    Default

    Ah! I never knew that, but it would still be a good idea to have that checked out. Is the car still under warranty?
    as being an 08 registered its only a year old.
    Cheers, Smudger.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    8,454

    Default

    As your car is still under warranty I'd take it to Ford. This is not a simple job as the dash has its own ECU (electronic control unit- computer), and it communicates with others. On most new cars there will be a central computer, perhaps one for the steering wheel controls, one for the radio/CD and so on. Ford can plug in their diagnostic computer which should find the problem.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    5,240

    Default

    Like Hometune has already pointed out, This vehicle will have the CAN BUS system where everything has a computer of its own and they communicate over a wired network. It is most likely to be an erroneous signal is causing the system respond this way. Alot of main dealers will contract mobile specialists to come to them and fix faults like these.
    A signal error will be detected using a dual channel 'scope to compare the signals which are normally a mirror image of one another.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5

    Angry

    Hometune / Mr Danno
    Thanks for the information, the main dealer I've taken the car to seems to want to solve the problem itself by changing parts they tried the radio which had no effect and are now thinking it may be the dash cluster itself. For info no fault codes came up when they interegated the cars central computer. I'm taking the car in again this Thursday for further tests so watch this space.
    Thanks again
    Maxmiles

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    42

    Default

    If you read the forums you will find that there are a lot of problems relating to instrument clusters failing , seems a common fault on Ford's, and they are not cheap items to replace .If it was a dealer you bought it from they WILL be aware of this, assuming because it's an 08 I think id probably be right in assuming that it will have the correct audio equipment and not some tacky gizmo. So why they have changed the radio is a mystery, If it wasnt a Ford dealership it may take some time to get it over to them that their IS an issue with the cluster's , however it should still be under warranty so it shouldn't be an issue . Just keep on their backs and if you can Google Ford cluster fault's print them off and show them the proof.

    Good luck
    Kev

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Transporter1, thanks for the info, I googled Ford instrument cluster problems and it seems there are major issues with the Ford Focus when they get to about four or five years old but there is nothing so far on the new Mondeo. Anyhow it's useful amunition to show to the Ford dealer when I go there this Thursday.
    Thanks again.
    Maxmiles

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    5

    Smile

    The dashboard cluster turned out to be faulty, this has now been replaced and everything is back to normal.

    Thanks to all those who posted their suggestions.

    Regards

    Maxmiles

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •