Thread: VW Polo - Replacing Cambelt

Default VW Polo - Replacing Cambelt

Morning

Any advice on this query would be much appreciated.

I own a VW polo 1.4S 02' automatic. I've had the car for 5/6 years. My annual mileage is low - approx 6,000miles pa - mainly in town. Total mileage on the clock is 27,000. I put the car in for a service with a main VW dealer and BEFORE the service they recommended a cambelt change. I asked how much a new cambelt would cost and they said approx £500. Gulp!!

I can't afford it at the moment.

I'm no mechanic. This sounds like a major job and is a lot of money. With my mileage, do you think a cambelt change is due and is £500 the going rate?

Thanks

It sounds a bit steep to me, Depending on the actual engine you have (twin cam or single cam) The book time for both is under 2hrs.

Agree with MrDanno. Book time around 2 hours for 8 or 16 valve.
    The full timing belt kit should cost you around £180 fitted.
    The interval is 60,000 miles or 6 years so VW are going on the latter. These engines can suffer from premature tensioner failure so a full kit is essential.

Thumbs up

MrDanno and Hometune

Thank you for your posts.
    I spoke to the dealer again and he said it was due after40,000 miles or 6 years.

Now that I know it needs replacing, I'll look around to see if I can get a better price.

Thank you very much for your help.

Once again, the person you spoke to at the dealer doesn't know what they are talking about. You will have been dealt with by someone on the front counter with, probably, no mechanical experience or qualifications. They are also target driven to achieve sales.
    Volkswagen recommend the belt is checked at 60,000 miles then at every 20,000 miles thereafter. However, at 60,000 miles the belt is past its sell-by date and it is false economy to try and make it last longer.