Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: toyota prius

Hybrid View

Default toyota prius

I have bought a toyota prius 3 weeks ago.It is a new car.I would just like to warn prospective buyers not to take notice of fuel consumption figure,either in brochure,or on inboard computer.Toyota claim via EPA fuel figures that yo can get 65 comb. 56 urban.This is a complete lie.You will be lucky to get combined figure of 47.This is what i am achieving and that is driving by the book.I have been involved with electric drive systems since the 1970,s so i am no novice.Why are these people allowed to deceive customers in this way.

Must admit to being surprised at difference between advertised figure and 'real world' figures. I found this on a website; http://www.wintonsworld.com/cars/a-c...road-test.html
    The response from Toyota makes for some interesting reading.

I am very dissapointed about being deceived this way.My experience tells me not to beleive figures from manufactures i would have been happy to abtain 50-55.,but not being able to get even 50 i really feel conned.Toyota should not be allowed to get away with this grossly inflated figure.It must surely defie the trade discription act.

I have never known any car get the figures quoted by the manufacturer. Remember they are done in conditions which you cannot re-create on the roads. It's about time they were made to drive them around towns and cities to get the figures and not test tracks.