Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Atrocious service from RAC breakdown and warranty

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    10

    Angry Atrocious service from RAC breakdown and warranty

    I broke down near Oxford with the car engulfed in smoke. Two fire engines and the highways agency arrived.

    I called the RAC to inform them that I was stuck at the side of the motorway with my wife and 3 month old baby. I was told i was priority and relay would arrive within 30 minutes.

    It was over an hour until a van turned up, following me having to make another call to see where the relay was.

    When the relay arrived it was a vehicle with only two seats despite me having informed the RAC that i was with my wife and baby and therefore needed a vehicle that could hold a baby seat. It was also unable to tow my car, which is an automatic - something else that i informed the RAC over the telephone.

    My wife and baby were taken to a nearby service station and i was told i would be picked up shortly by a truck with a flatbed in order to move my car.

    I was left waiting for a further four hours by the side of the motorway despite frequent calls to the RAC to see where my relay was. I was told on two occasions that it would be 30 minutes more.

    Meanwhile my wife was left at the services with our luggage and baby paraphernalia all that time, unable to go to the restroom or baby changing room as well as being unable to get any kind of refreshment due to being unwilling/unable to leave our luggage etc unmanned.

    When relay finally arrived it was again unsuitable. While it was a flatbed truck, it could only hold two passengers - again despite the RAC being made aware of the fact that my wife and I had a baby with us.

    I was taken from the motorway to the services to discover my wife and baby distressed and hungry, but left to wait a further 45 minutes for a third relay truck - this one with a flatbed and enough seats for the three of us.

    Needless to say I am not happy with the level of service i received from the RAC.

    What's more, I was informed by the relay mechanic that there would have been little warning that my turbo would go. Yet my RAC warranty has refused to pay to repair the damage, claiming it was my responsibility, despite the car having a sufficient service history to meet the requirements of my warranty agreement.

    When I complained about the matter, I was informed that the car is "nine years old" and therefore such things should be expected.

    If this is the case, I question why I have paid 250 a year for three years for a warranty that refuses to pay for damage to a nine-year old car. This is clearly a case of a policy being mis-sold.

    I have been left without a car for nearly a month now, which has impacted upon my ability to get to work.

    It is unacceptable that I should have been left for so long (7 days) while the initial claim was assessed. It took several phone calls from myself and the garage looking after the car before I finally got a response from the RAC, which was to decline my claim.

    I will be seeking remuneration through the financial ombudsman over the level of service I have received as well as the fact that I have been mis-sold a policy.

    Meanwhile I am still without a car and unable to go to work while I am left to dispute my claim.

    Today I have just been informed by the garage that the turbo that the RAC returned this morning is not the turbo he sent to there assessors, luckily he took precautions in case this happened.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,864

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by jmerc View Post
    I broke down near Oxford with the car engulfed in smoke. Two fire engines and the highways agency arrived.

    I called the RAC to inform them that I was stuck at the side of the motorway with my wife and 3 month old baby. I was told i was priority and relay would arrive within 30 minutes.

    It was over an hour until a van turned up, following me having to make another call to see where the relay was.

    When the relay arrived it was a vehicle with only two seats despite me having informed the RAC that i was with my wife and baby and therefore needed a vehicle that could hold a baby seat. It was also unable to tow my car, which is an automatic - something else that i informed the RAC over the telephone.

    My wife and baby were taken to a nearby service station and i was told i would be picked up shortly by a truck with a flatbed in order to move my car.

    I was left waiting for a further four hours by the side of the motorway despite frequent calls to the RAC to see where my relay was. I was told on two occasions that it would be 30 minutes more.

    Meanwhile my wife was left at the services with our luggage and baby paraphernalia all that time, unable to go to the restroom or baby changing room as well as being unable to get any kind of refreshment due to being unwilling/unable to leave our luggage etc unmanned.

    When relay finally arrived it was again unsuitable. While it was a flatbed truck, it could only hold two passengers - again despite the RAC being made aware of the fact that my wife and I had a baby with us.

    I was taken from the motorway to the services to discover my wife and baby distressed and hungry, but left to wait a further 45 minutes for a third relay truck - this one with a flatbed and enough seats for the three of us.

    Needless to say I am not happy with the level of service i received from the RAC.

    What's more, I was informed by the relay mechanic that there would have been little warning that my turbo would go. Yet my RAC warranty has refused to pay to repair the damage, claiming it was my responsibility, despite the car having a sufficient service history to meet the requirements of my warranty agreement.

    When I complained about the matter, I was informed that the car is "nine years old" and therefore such things should be expected.

    If this is the case, I question why I have paid 250 a year for three years for a warranty that refuses to pay for damage to a nine-year old car. This is clearly a case of a policy being mis-sold.

    I have been left without a car for nearly a month now, which has impacted upon my ability to get to work.

    It is unacceptable that I should have been left for so long (7 days) while the initial claim was assessed. It took several phone calls from myself and the garage looking after the car before I finally got a response from the RAC, which was to decline my claim.

    I will be seeking remuneration through the financial ombudsman over the level of service I have received as well as the fact that I have been mis-sold a policy.

    Meanwhile I am still without a car and unable to go to work while I am left to dispute my claim.

    Today I have just been informed by the garage that the turbo that the RAC returned this morning is not the turbo he sent to there assessors, luckily he took precautions in case this happened.

    The Highways Agency SHOULD have done much much more to help you.

    Was it a Motorway that you were on?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Yes it was on the motorway

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,864

    Default

    Make a complaint to the Highways Agency about the manner in which they dealt with the incident.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    8,527

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jmerc View Post
    Yes it was on the motorway
    Irrespective of where this took place your post echoes many others now appearing on this forum and no doubt Facebook and others.

    Most of us on here will tell you NEVER to buy ANY aftermarket warranty as, in the main, they are worthless. However, having sold you the warranty and being fully aware of the age, mileage etc of your car, they are in my view guilty of mis-selling if they will not pay out. I wonder just what they would pay out on if not this problem?
    The response is another example of the ever deteriorating service that this company aims to provide. The ridiculous wait and the **** ups with the the various recovery trucks seems to be the norm. You can see more complaints in the feedback section on this forum plus dozens of other complaints of a similar tone.

    I agree you should contact the Ombudsman but ultimately, the RAC is part of a bigger group where only the shareholders matter. If you are really lucky, one of the admin team may read your post and reply.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,081

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dennis W View Post
    Make a complaint to the Highways Agency about the manner in which they dealt with the incident.
    You have lost me there Dennis.

    The breakdown company was RAC
    The warranty was RAC

    So how is it anything to do with anyone else?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I spoke to a Manager at the warranty division this afternoon and even though he agrees it can't be my turbo from the pictures provided by the specialist they employed to investigate. The RAC are sending another assessor to the garage where my car is (and has been there a month on Saturday) to assess it......can anyone understand this???

    He also thinks it is a honest mistake but I am unsure of this due to the report submitted. The RAC specialists claim there was a shortage of oil which caused my turbo vane to seize but my mechanic showed me my turbo before it was collected and my turbo vane had snapped in two.

    The turbo they have returned the vane is fully intact and seized......
    Last edited by jmerc; 26-06-14 at 03:50.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hometune View Post
    Most of us on here will tell you NEVER to buy ANY aftermarket warranty as, in the main, they are worthless.
    Won't be buying one again

    Quote Originally Posted by Hometune View Post
    However, having sold you the warranty and being fully aware of the age, mileage etc of your car, they are in my view guilty of mis-selling if they will not pay out. I wonder just what they would pay out on if not this problem?
    Thats what annoys me most. My car was bought 2.5 years ago with an RAC warranty which cost me 250. This is now the third year they have taken 250 (total paid is 750) and my first claim and they reject it.

    Apparently lack of service history was the first reason, yet it has been serviced every 10-15k (8 services) whenever the Merc service computer requested it.

    When I told the Manager that he claimed it must have been low quality oil. Which again I objected too because I always pay the extra for Mercedes approved oil.


    Quote Originally Posted by Hometune View Post

    I agree you should contact the Ombudsman but ultimately, the RAC is part of a bigger group where only the shareholders matter. If you are really lucky, one of the admin team may read your post and reply.
    I requested a final response letter but they have said they have 8 weeks to issue their final answer.
    So in the mean time I am without a car, getting charged storage fees by the garage who have my car and the RAC/Specialist are using delay tactics.

    I will be speaking to Citizens Advice regarding a miss-sold policy.
    Last edited by jmerc; 27-06-14 at 02:37.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    186

    Default

    Hi jmerc
    I am really sorry to read about your experience. May I ask you to email your car registration, date of the incident and your contact details to: ops@rac.co.uk and we'll be happy to try and help resolve the matter.
    Thanks
    MC

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    3,000

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dennis W View Post
    Make a complaint to the Highways Agency about the manner in which they dealt with the incident.
    The HA will normally do what they can, but they are not allowed to tow cars, and in any case the OP's car was an automatic so towing was not practical. Perhaps you could enlighten us with your ideas as to what they failed to do which warrants a complaint.

    The RAC on the other hand....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •