Thread: Battery con???

Angry Battery con???

My car battery was flat Thursday, so I called rac he came out and charged up my battery showing me that a car battery should go to 14 point something voltage, my battery went to 14 point something and then dropped down to 12 point something, straight away he told me that this was the battery losing charge and needed a new one, telling me that I would not be able to run the car on12 point something volts..I am a very new driver and so know not much at all about these things yet, but being my rac breakdown man I had no reason to doubt him at all. So I bought the new battery under his advise. I drove my car around Friday but then Saturday my battery was flat again, I called rac out again, this time I spoke to a friend who works with cars and he said it might be the alternator and this should have been tested first, when the rac man came out I told him this, and this time he did check the alternator, which was the problem, he spent a long time telling me over and over that the alternator was draining the battery, saying it was draining 4 volts when he put this wire on, and then not when he put a different wire on ect... He told me that while my car stands still my alternator is draining my battery, so I asked him if intact I hadn't need a new battery as the problem was the alternator and he told me that the altenator had actually killed my old battery dead...this seemed strange when my old battery had infact charged up to 14 and stayed at 12 point something?? So I called my friend and he said that a running car the battery would be on 14 point something voltage but a car without the engine running would infact be at 12 point something and as this was the case I never needed a new battery at all, and also when the rac man came Thursday one of the first things he should have checked was the altenator and not just jumped straight in with saying i needed a new battery, I feel lied to and ripped off and I am not happy that I feel