Thread: Renault Clio 2002 1.2 16v Dynamique - Electrical Fault Warning Light?

Question Renault Clio 2002 1.2 16v Dynamique - Electrical Fault Warning Light?

Recently just bought the above car - everything is fine and I'm having no problems apart from when it rains the electrical fault warning light comes on the dashboard. When this happens the car becomes difficult to accelerate above 30mph, but if I stop and turn off the engine and restart the light disappears and everything is fine again - it has only come on again after this during very very heavy rain. Car has done only 40k, and has been kept in good condition by the previous owner. I've searched the forums for the same problem and people have various different solutions and the problem seems worse for them, but posts date back to like 2008/09. Any ideas what it could be? As I said, it only happens when it's raining or after heavy rain when the car is damp.

I'm a new driver and not very technical btw!

The fuse box under the bonnet behind the battery may be allowing water in and running to the wiring.

If you bought the car from a dealer, take it back and tell them, all dealers are required to give a six months warranty on cars.