Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Tyre pressure valves on vauxhall insignia

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default Tyre pressure valves on vauxhall insignia

    Hi,

    Anyone had problems with tyre pressure valves snapping on Insignia. My car is 14 months old and while taking dust cap of the valve snapped. Was told this problem is caused by corrosion and is not covered by warranty at a cost of 105.00 plus Vat. Has anyone changed the valve out to a normal rubber valve ( leaves warning light on ) etc

    Thaks Mo

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6,379

    Default

    Check out the Consumer direct site (Google will find it). Contact Vauxhall UK yourself, I think the dealer is looking to make a bit extra on the side.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    817

    Default

    We see this quite a bit on cars that have metal valves water gets in the cap and corrodes the metal. You can on some put a normal rubber valve in but not really advised euro car parts do a kit which is a sensor and valve but they are seperate not built together maybe worth enquiring


    Miss breakdown

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    73

    Default

    Don't forget boys and girls that any car first registered after 01/01/2012 will fail the MOT if the tyre pressure monitoring warning light is on.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    6,379

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wagolynn View Post
    Check out the Consumer direct site (Google will find it). Contact Vauxhall UK yourself, I think the dealer is looking to make a bit extra on the side.
    The point is corrosion is a fundamental design fault.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Thanks to all for their suggestions, but it looks as if I am stuck with a large bill as appart from the valve the dealers also charge for resetting the in car computer. With the onset of the new rules re tyre pressure warning lights this could result in a nice little earner for the dealers because a puncture will require the computer re-set after the tyre has been re-fitted.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •