Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Has anyone experienced car cloning?

Default Has anyone experienced car cloning?

Hello, I was just wondering if anybody here was on the worng end of car cloning? Any details/information you could share?

Welcome to the site Arran, I know for a fact that if I had been caught out like that, I would feel too embarrassed to admit to it on an open forum page.

Mind you, that's just my thought on the subject, many others would, if they thought it was going to help anyone from falling for the same thing.

Default Cloning

Don't see how you can be "caught out" by it, as it is something that criminals are alleged to do to avoid fines, etc, by looking for a car of the same type, model and colour and copying the number plate - which is why the law has now been changed and it is much more difficult to buy a replacement plate.

I have no direct personal experience, but a year or two back a friend of mine was extremely shocked to receive what can only be described as a blizzard of demands for unpaid London Congestion Charges, and NIPs for speeding (again all round London). He'd only had his car for a few months and fortunately was able to produce his work diary as incontravertable evidence that neither he nor his car had ever been within 200 miles of London!

Eventually all charges were dropped.

So far I have not been caught.
    If the criminals are using a stolen log book document, no matter where you check, short of contacting previous owners, you are going to get caught.
    In my opinion if one of the stolen documents is used, the DVLA should compensate the victim. See http://petitions.number10.gov.uk/DVLA-reform/

Yes, I've had one of my previous cars cloned.
    It started with a call from Blackpool police:...
    "are you the owner of Landrover Discovery ABC123 ? (obviously not the real VRM)"
    Me. "Yes, why?"
    Police:"It was seen doing various illegal offences in xxxx street in Blackpool last night"